top of page

Keep your Ubisoft account active: You (won't) lose all of your games (UPDATED)

Updated: Jul 25, 2023

Update 7/25/2023 12:00 AM: Ubisoft has made some updates to the official help page about this. If you have an active Ubisoft subscription or have purchased any PC games digitally through their service, you are not eligible for deletion.


So, if you have games on your account, you're good.


The original article:


A user over on X (AKA Twitter) was recently sent an email stating that their Ubisoft account was “temporarily suspended” and that it was going to “permanently” close in 30 days due to inactivity on the account.


The reason for this is really more to do with GDPR procedure from Europe, as opposed to anything nefarious.



Image: Ubisoft


An account closure does sound scary. You’ll lose your entire account in that case, including any and all games, purchases, and unlocked items tied to that account.


But, how can it get that far? According to Ubisoft in 2021, they don’t mark accounts for inactivity for four years. According to the company, you will be informed if you are marked as inactive.


What do I do if my Ubisoft account is inactive?


According to an X (previously known as “tweets”) put out on X (previously Twitter), Ubisoft has an easy solution for those marked for death. If you get the email that the X user got, need have no fear.


You just need to log into your account and click the “Cancel Account Closure” link that they provide in the email.


You’re done. You can now forget about your account again for four years.


How do I avoid Ubisoft trying to close my account altogether?

This one is easy. Go log in to your Ubisoft account right now. You can do it through Ubisoft.com or use the Ubisoft Connect client on PC. That’s it.



It doesn't matter if you have 8 games or 80. It's worth logging into Ubisoft real quick while it's on your mind.


For those of us old enough to understand this reference: it’s basically like jiggling the mouse to keep your screensaver from popping up.


Either way, don’t worry. It’s nothing you need to worry about and if you are marked as inactive on Ubisoft, it’s easy to fix.


Update 7/25/2023 12:00 AM: Ubisoft has made some updates to the official help page about this. If you have an active Ubisoft subscription or have purchased any PC games digitally through their service, you are not eligible for deletion.


So, if you have games on your account, you're good.


Do you have any thoughts about this topic? Tell us in the comments below, or talk about it on Twitter. Don’t forget to tag us in the discussion! And don’t forget to subscribe to our weekly Patch Notes!

Check out some other topics on GameCrate:


132 views0 comments
bottom of page